Articles

How conscious are we?

How conscious are we?

By Muslim on 18 May, 2011

HOW CONSCIOUS ARE WE ?

Carelessness in the consumption of Doubtful or Haraam edibles is a sure sign of diseased Imaan. If this state of heedlessness about what is consumed continues, the day dawns in a person's life when halaal/haraam is eventually regarded as a trivial matter, causing Imaan to ‘choke out’ and die. Judging from the increasing number of Muslims eating out at franchised and other food outlets, it seems this trend is growing fast among Muslims these days.


WHAT IS HARAM

Allah Ta’ala clearly mentions what is Haram in Holy Qur’an (Surah Al-Maa’idah, 5:3):

"Haram to you (for food) is carrion; blood; the flesh of swine; that which any name other than Allah has been invoked; that which has been killed by strangling; and beat to death, or dead through falling from a height; and killed by the goring of horns; and that which was eaten by wild beasts, unless you are able to perform dhabiha; and that which is sacrificed to idols."

Allah also states in Surah Al-Baqarah (2:168):

"Eat of that which is Halal and tayyib (clean, pure, good) in the earth, and follow not the footsteps of Shaytaan. Surely he is an open enemy to you!"

The only instance when a Muslim is permitted to consume Haram provisions is if he or she is on the verge of starvation and the only food available to him or her is food which is ordinarily Haram. Allah states in Holy Qur’an (Surah Al-Baqarah, 2:173):

"But if one is forced by necessity, neither by desire nor transgressing, it is no sin upon him. Surely Allah is Forgiving, Merciful!"

AHL-AL-KITAB AND DHABIHA

Allah states in Holy Qur’an (Surah Al-Maa’idah, 5:5):

"The food of the People of the Book is Halal for you and your food is Halal for them."

Many are misled to assume that if the food is from a Christian or Jew, it is Halal whether or not dhabiha has been performed. The truth of the situation is, as related by Ibn Abbas (r.a.),

"Their (Ahl-al-Kitab) food means their dhabiha." [Sahih Al-Bukhari]

From this, it can be seen that in the issue of Halal meat dhabiha is fardh (obligatory), and if the meat is to originate from a Jew or a Christian, then this is the major and critical and critical concern.

It is a transgression to knowingly consume Haram meat.

Allah says in Holy Qur’an (Surah Al-An’aam, 6:121):

"And do not eat that which the name of Allah has not been mentioned. And surely it is a transgression. Surely the Shayateen (devils) inspire their friends to dispute with you. But if you were to obey them you would indeed be of the mushrikeen (polytheists)."

Allah makes mention of such an ayah previous to the above in the 118th and 119th ayahs:

"Eat of that which the name of Allah has been pronounced if you are believers in his ayahs. How should you not eat that which the name of Allah has been mentioned when He explained to you that which is Haram to you unless you are forced otherwise under compulsion? But surely, many are led astray by their own lusts through ignorance. Surely your Lord knows best those who transgress."

This does not mean the pronunciation of "Bismillah" is what makes it Halal, instead, it means as long as dhabiha was performed, the pronunciation of the Basmala is required upon consumption of the meat. In ALL collections of Hadith, for every serving of meat brought to Sayyidina Rasulullah (Sallallahu alayhi wa Sallam), dhabiha was always performed.

In Sahih Al-Bukhari, Az-Zuhri (r.a.) said:

"There is no harm in eating animals where the dhabiha was performed by Arab Christians. If you hear the one who performs dhabiha on the animals mentioning other than Allah’s Name, then don’t eat of it, but if you don’t hear that, then Allah has allowed the eating of animals where dhabiha has been performed by them, though He knows their disbelief."

 
Back to Articles
Powered by 4M